Tuesday, November 7, 2017


By Ekemini James

To further reduce the high cost of governance, Akwa Ibom State Governor, Mr Udom Emmanuel, has inaugurated an eight man committee to liaise and work out modalities, with the Ibom Power Company Limited, to ensure effective power generation at the Idongesit Nkanga Secretariat, Uyo.

The Committee is headed by the Honourable Commissioner for Works, Mr Ephraim Inyang-eyen.

Performing the Inauguration, Friday, at Governor's Office Complex, Government House, Uyo, Governor Emmanuel, represented by the Secretary to the State Government, Sir Ettekamba Umoren, said the Committee is to work out modalities with the Ibom Power Company Limited, to connect all government Ministries, Departments and agencies, at the Idongesit Nkanga Secretariat, to the commercial line of the Port Harcourt Electricity Distribution Company (PHEDC).

Continuing, the Governor pointed out that government's intention, is to reduce excessive spending, while also ensuring efficient power generation, at the State Secretariat.

He maintained that the project when completed, will reduce noise pollution and other environmental hazards, associated with running generating sets, adding it will also improve the working conditions and foster job delivery among workers at the Idongesit Nkanga Secretariat.

The State Chief Executive urged members of the Committee to see their appointment as a call to service, adding, they should work as a team, to arrive at tangible recommendations.

Responding, the Committee Chairman, Mr Ephraim Inyang-eyen, thanked Governor Emmanuel for the confidence reposed in them and pledged the commitment of the members, in meeting up with the task assigned to them.

He said that the project, apart from enhancing power generation at the State Secretariat, would also develop human capacities that would utilise the power.

Members of the Committee include the Commissioner for Housing and Special Duties, Mr Akan Okon, that of Environment and Mineral Resources, Dr Iniobong Essien and his colleague in the Ministry of Science and Technology, Dr Nse Essien.

Others include the Senior Special Assistant to the Governor on Technical Matters and Due Process, Elder Ufot Ebong, Special Adviser, Bureau of Rural Development and Cooperatives, Mrs Ekemini Umoh and the Permanent Secretary, General Services Offices, Governor's Office Annex, Mrs Eno Offiong.

The Committee has two weeks to submit its report.




Contact Us @ info@akwaibomnews.com.ng